Have you discovered plantains yet??

If you’re FODMAP free and Paleo like me you probably miss your starches right? I know I sure do! So what’s the best alternative? PLANTAINS my friends!

20140614-114729-42449380.jpg

You can use this cousin of the banana without limits! I’m super sensitive and can only tolerate 1/2 banana at a time but I have had zero problems with plantains.

For the skinny on using plantains, including tips on how to select them at the store and how to peel them when you get them home, check out my hero The Paleo Mom at thepaleomom.com.

Here are links to a few of my favs:
Plantain crackers-
http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/09/plantain-crackers-nut-free-egg-free.html

Fried plantain chips (tostones)-
http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/16768/puerto-rican-tostones-fried-plantains

You can find several sweet plantain recipes as well! One I found in the Nom Nom Paleo cookbook-

2 VERY ripe (almost black) plantains sliced into about 1″ thick discs
1/4-1/2 cup of coconut flour
Cinnamon for sprinkling
Coconut oil

Roll plantain pieces in flour and place in frying pan with coconut oil. Fry for 1-2 minutes on each side, remove from pan and dust with cinnamon. Enjoy hot or cold out of the fridge.

Leave a Reply

