Kabocha-the best squash you’ve never heard of!

We FODMAPers have to be very careful with our carbs. I’m a tad on the extreme side of reactivity so I have to be rather creative in my selection. So I’ve been forced to broaden my horizons. I adore squash, particularly butternut, unfortunately it doesn’t return the love! I stumbled upon another squash at my local grocery store and decided to give it a try. It was delicious! Creamy and sweet, kabocha squash is a treat for squash lovers.

Kabocha squash
One kabocha squash
2-3 Tbs of coconut oil
Salt to taste

Cut squash in half horizontally. Scoop out the “guts” and put about a Tbs of coconut oil in the middle of each. Coat the entire surface of the meat of the squash with oil. Place in a roasting pan with about 1″ of water, meat side up. Bake at 375 for 45-50 minutes until soft.

20140622-093333-34413400.jpg

Leave a Reply

